Brett Emison Receives AAJ “Above and Beyond” Award for 2022

Partner Brett Emison was honored with a 2022 “Above and Beyond” Award from the American Association for Justice (AAJ).  Brett received the award at the association’s Leadership Luncheon at the AAJ Annual Convention held this year in Seattle, Washington.

The Above and Beyond Award recognizes AAJ members who have made exceptional contributions to strengthen the AAJ.  In addition to having received the Above and Beyond Award and the AAJ’s Pro Bono Award, Brett is a multi-year recipient of both the Distinguished Service Award and the Wiedemenn & Wysocki Award.  Brett has Chaired AAJ’s Publication Committee since 2019 and serves as a member of AAJ’s National Finance Committee and Voter Protection Committee.  Brett also serves as a trustee of the AAJ PAC.

Brett focuses his practice on catastrophic injury cases, and represents clients nationwide from the firm’s Lexington, Mo., office, where he is chair of the firm’s Mass Torts division.  He regularly presents at seminars and other educational events teaching other attorneys the strategies learned in trials and cases across the country. For his successful representations of people injured in train accidents, Brett has been selected the “Lawyer of the Year” for the Kansas City metro area by Best Lawyers in America, in the category of railroad law for plaintiffs, and has been recognized as a Best Lawyer in that category for each of the last four years.

A past-president of the Missouri Association of Trial Attorneys, Brett will continue to serve on influential AAJ committees and advocate at a high level for citizens’ access to justice alongside other AAJ leaders.  Joining him receiving this year’s Above and Beyond class from throughout the U.S. are Rick Barrera Jr., Matthew P. Bergman, Michael G. Donahue, Wayne Hogan, Jennifer M. Lipinski, Tim O’Keeffe, Michael G. Phelan, Bradley J. Prochaska, and Ellen Relkin.